Cilantro-Lime Soba Noodle Goodness

One of things I love most about living in Minnesota are the distinct seasons. But with the transition of seasons, I sort of get lost and confused in the kitchen and lose my passion for creating new recipes, so I end up grazing or just eating breakfast for dinner day after day. A few weeks back, I tried to get out of that rut. I happened to have chicken, sweet peppers, a lime and cilantro in my fridge; ingredients I had been planning to use in different recipes, but had not yet executed. Stir-fry-y dishes are a go to option for me because of the freshness and simplicity, and these were definitely stir-fry worthy ingredients. Thus this recipe was born.

Begin by cutting 2 chicken thighs or breasts into small-ish chunks and tossing them in a large frying pan with ~1-2 T olive oil. Cook until no longer pink.

Add 3-4 sliced sweet peppers, 1 deseeded diced jalapeño, 1 thinly sliced onion, 1 inch of chopped/grated ginger and 4 minced garlic cloves. Stir occasionally.

image
The onion and jalapeño are from my garden!

While that’s cooking, prepare the cilantro-lime sauce in a blender or food processor. Add 1 bunch of cilantro (stems cut off), juice from one lime, ~2T soy sauce, 1 t rooster chili sauce, ~2 t rice vinegar, ~1 t sugar. Blend until finely processed and then add the sauce to the pan. Heat until the sauce is warm.

Add the stir-fry to a bed of soba noodles, top with sliced scallions, and BOOM. Easy, flavorful meal!

image

If you want to make it even easier, you can pre-slice all the veggies ahead of time so it’s ready to just toss into the pan. I’ve now cooked this recipe 2x, and I’ll always keep it in my back pocket for when I’m in a cooking rut.

Leave a Reply

