Tri-flections

I did it. I finished my first outdoor triathlon season, and it flew by like the blink of an eye. It’s sad to be done, but I’m looking forward to mixing up my training a bit over the fall and winter months. Sure, I’ll miss racing triathlon, but I’ll just have to choose different forms of racing to satisfy the competitive spirit in me.

I learned a lot about myself throughout the course of the summer, and if I were to go deeper into what triathlon means to me I might get weepy, so instead I’ll share five fun triathlon reflections, or tri-flections.

1.) Don’t expect to get a good night’s sleep the night before a triathlon. The night before the YWCA Women’s Tri, I just couldn’t sleep and I was all complain-y about it. I complained to Kym, my private swim lesson coach, turned triathlon/life coach turned friend. She responded, “It’s ok to not sleep. Simply allow yourself to find a little peace.” One of her suggestions was to use lavender as a sleep aid. Brilliant. I grabbed the nearest clean sock and I filled it with rice and lavender, tied it in a knot, and then microwaved it for 30 seconds. I went back up to bed, put the sock directly under my nose and on top of my mouth, and fell asleep within 30 minutes. Boom. FYI, clean sheets also work like magic.

image
I can’t believe I’m posting this. I really can’t believe I’m posting this.

2.) Take advantage of the awesomeness of a wetsuit. Pee in it. Seriously, nobody can tell. This is the beauty of triathlons versus running races. Stand in line at the porta potty? No, thank you! And if you have the pleasure of doing longer races, you even have the excuse to pee on your bike (!…).

3.) Fancy painted toenails make you go faster. I painted Glen’s toenails the night before his triathlon last weekend, and he shaved off 20+ minutes compared to last year’s time and was 3rd in his age group. To prepare for my last solo triathlon of the season, I painted Mr. Kitty Nibbles on my toes. He may not have helped me during my excruciating swim, but he helped me on the run!

image

Seriously, if you ever need your toes painted, please consider employing me. I should’ve known toenail painting would be my forte way back in 3rd grade…

image
A glimpse at my thrilling childhood diary. Notice, I painted my nails on BOTH Saturday and Sunday. Commitment.

4.) If you’re cheering, look as ridiculous as humanely possible, even if you get some very perplexed stares from onlookers. A little entertainment on course goes a long ways. I clearly remember the human dressed up as a foot at the Women’s Tri.

image
Human foot!
image
Dino-ing in Duluth.

And while I thought that my dinosaur getup was top notch when I was an official support/cheer member at Superior Man Tri, Kate and Glen sooooo bested me this weekend.

image
Dino-Glen at St. Croix Valley Triathlon.

5.) All good things must come to an end. Here’s where I move away from a silly reflection, and onto a more serious note. Yeah, it may be a tiny bit sappy, but really I’m getting teary eyed… And really, it’s not coming to an end, it’s just cyclical in nature. If the triathlon season went on forever, we would most definitely get bored and it wouldn’t be as special. Something that won’t change will be the people. I love my triathlon people, who are the most supportive, fun, and caring people I have ever met. You bring out the goofy in me, and you keep me going every day. Special shout out to Kate and Glen for being great training buddies and the ultimate inpiration. And Kym. I know that I wouldn’t be anywhere near as successful this season without your coaching and friendship. Hugs.

Yesterday, I was invited to a fabulous, fancy celebratory dinner. While this may have marked the end of the triathlon season, really it’s the beginning of something different.

image
Chef Glen’s delicious creations.

 

One thought on “Tri-flections

Leave a Reply

